The Invisible Thread

In association with The Invisible Thread anthology, the ACT Writers Showcase celebrates the wealth and diversity of literary talent in the ACT region. Launched with over 100 writers to celebrate Canberra’s centenary, we invite you to discover why they have enriched our city.

Featured Writers

Tania McCartney

Clive Hamilton

Clive Hamilton, AM, was born in Canberra. He was educated at Yarralumla Primary School, Telopea Park High School (with a two-year break in London), the Australian National University, the University of Sydney and the University of Sussex. He was an academic and public servant, and spent two years in Indonesia as an environmental policy adviser, before setting up a think tank, the Australia Institute, in 1994, which he then directed for 14 years.

read full entry >>

Nigel Featherstone

Kim Westwood

Kim Westwood was a weedy asthmatic kid who devoured books like dinner. This made her want to cook up her own stuff. She is the recipient of a Varuna Fellowship for her first novel, The Daughters of Moab. Her second, The Courier’s New Bicycle, won an Aurealis Award (Best Science Fiction Novel) and a Ditmar Award (Best Novel), and was placed on the honours list for the James Tiptree Jnr Award.


read full entry >>


100 Years Logo ACT Writers Centre logo Paperchain Bookstore New Acton Logo
ACT Government Logo National Year of Reading Blemish Books logo